Some diet trends are very beneficial for your health, while others might not work for your body. But what's the whole fuss around a gluten-free diet? What foods are gluten-free? Is it something you actually need to finally achieve the eating habits you wanted? You might find the answers on our list of the top ten foods you can consume if you switch to a gluten-free foods diet. Maybe it's ideal for you, so do your research, or check ours because we've got you covered!
10. (Some) Whole Grains
Unfortunately, many grains contain gluten, and they're the main thing to avoid. However, most whole grains are gluten-free grains! The grains to dodge are rye, barley, wheat, and triticale, but that's not too hard. Even though replacing wheat with something else seems challenging, there are plenty of alternate choices!
The whole grains that you can freely consume while on this diet are rice, amaranth, corn, millet, or buckwheat. Yet, it's essential to check the label for some grains before buying them since they can include gluten, such as oats. Whole grains are usually healthy, but always make sure to double-check them!
9. Seeds and Nuts
You'll have to ditch all the snacks for some diets, such as the low-carb one! However, gluten-free diets allow you to play a bit, especially with nuts and seeds, since they're mostly safe. Just make sure you're eating nuts in their natural, pure form since refined foods, in most cases, contain some form of gluten.
Hence, we definitely recommend peanuts, almonds, walnuts, and pine nuts if you don't know where to start. Sunflower and sesame seeds are 100% safe and preferable choices. Manufactured and flavored nuts and seeds must be double-checked, just like whole grains, but it won't be complicated!
8. Milk and Yogurt
Is yogurt among gluten-free foods? That's the central question in the world of food – and the answer is yes! Most yogurts and milk are safe to use if you're interested in this diet, even though there are some things to double-check. Unfortunately, most flavored yogurts must be avoided because they're refined and have additional ingredients.
For example, the yogurt that you shouldn't consume if you'd like to be gluten-free is the famous Greek yogurt. This is because it usually includes toppings or flavors containing gluten. Milk is a safer option, though, since it's on the gluten-free food list no matter what type it is. Whole, low-fat, any cow milk… It's all up to you, but all of them are acceptable!
Since we've touched upon dairy products, you can also eat plenty of cheese types without overthinking your decision. Blue cheese, feta, parmesan, cheddar, cream cheese, and ricotta are examples of a variety of cheese that you can consume without worries. This isn't even the whole list, so check out more details!
When it comes to the products with cheese, you should always read the label since the cheese on its own is gluten-free, but the other ingredients don't have to be. For example, dairy-free cheese doesn't necessarily lack flour or wheat. Of course, cheesecake isn't gluten-free food in any way, so don't get scammed!
6. Beans and Legumes
You definitely should strengthen your carbohydrates and proteins if you're quitting gluten. Luckily, all the natural forms of beans are suitable for a gluten-free diet, providing enough carbohydrates for you. You don't have to worry whether they're pinto, black, or any other pure type – they won't ruin your plan!
Of course, baked beans by various brands can have gluten, so it's better to do the bean recipes on your own. Moreover, legumes are protein-rich foods, so they'll replace your gluten need, too! Lentils and peas are the perfect examples, so try to eat these even more than before if you ditch gluten.
5. Non-Processed Meats
As you probably learned from this article already, refined foods rarely stay away from gluten. Hence, the same rule applies to meat. Of course, meat comes in various types and origins, but processed meats are generally better to avoid. Unfortunately, they're loaded with sugar and gluten as well. Therefore, they are also unhealthy in general!
Luckily, non-processed meat is gluten-free meat, and good examples of that are beef, all types of poultry, and lamb. Nonetheless, you'll have to forget about the deadly hot dogs and sausages since they're already ruining your health without even mentioning gluten as a topic. Meat isn't wrong – just know how to consume it!
Besides the "basic" meat we mentioned, seafood and fish are gluten-free foods as well! Fish basically has no cons, and it's a preferred food type in almost any kind of diet, so it obviously won't be a problem here. You can even make gluten-free pasta with seafood – the food you thought was unhealthy can be prepared healthily!
Shellfish, scallops, shrimps, and many other seafood types belong to the gluten-free food list. Plus, they're among the most popular seafood. Nevertheless, be careful with some forms, such as crab meat, since it contains wheat, a.k.a. the most common kind of gluten. Most of the restaurants prepare seafood without gluten!
Similar to fish and seafood, eggs are another food type that barely receives criticism for strict diets. Some people might not like it, but it's a fact that eggs are very nutritious and protect your skin. To make it even better, they're gluten-free in their original form, and you don't have to ditch them!
Moreover, eggs stay gluten-free even when they leave the shell. Egg yolks, egg whites, or any other way of preparing them won't cause problems if you don't mix them with processed meat or other products. Luckily, eggs are high in protein and low in carbohydrates, so they're among the healthiest options!
When we say vegetables, that includes way too many foods that differ in various categories. Still, most of them are gluten-free, such as potatoes, carrots, or corn. Some of the vegetables we mentioned are starchy, so those are acceptable. Cruciferous vegetables like broccoli, collard greens, or arugula are pretty much the safest bet, too!
On the other hand, it's expected that even vegetables have something you should be aware of. Frozen vegetables can contain a gluten flavor, and the same rule goes for canned products. Still, don't forget to read the label, and you won't have any problems. Veggies are usually the safest option!
Some diets exclude fruit, and many influencers promote their decision to quit this delicious and healthy treat. However, that's definitely not a good idea if you're interested in a gluten-free diet since there's nothing to avoid in fruits here! Fruits might have some sugar, but they're still very nutritious and high in vitamins!
Of course, fruits don't have gluten, and the only ones you should be careful with are frozen and canned fruits – the same as vegetables. Fruits to definitely include in your diet are bananas, apples, peaches, citrus fruits (grapefruit, lemon), pears, and all forms of berries, including the delicious strawberries!
Luckily, this top ten list doesn't exclude foods that people consume daily. If gluten is something your body refuses, you can still eat plenty of stuff without missing other groceries. You need lots of mental strength for some diets, but for this one, we're sure it will work without any issues!
How does this diet idea sound to you? Does it contain stuff you're regularly eating? Let us know in the comments section!
Photo: Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash